Fair Housing

Fair Housing is a National Policy of the United States

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act), as amended, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on race, color, religion, sex, handicap (disability), family status (children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians, pregnant women, and people securing custody of children under the age of 18) or national origin.

It is the right of all citizens to live where they choose, when they choose, and for as long as they choose and can afford to do so.

The principals of fair housing are not only national law and national policy, but a fundamental human concept and entitlement for all Americans.

National Fair Housing Month in April provides an opportunity for all Americans to recognize that complete success in the goal of equal housing opportunity can only be accomplished with the help and cooperation of all Americans.

LRGVDC recognizes April as Fair Housing Month and supports the promotion of awareness on Fair Housing. Click here for Resolution.

Don't Let Housing Discrimination Lock You Out

Anyone who feels he or she has been discriminated against may file a housing discrimination complaint. Complaints can be filed to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) by calling:

Toll Free 1-800-669-9777
Hearing Impaired,
TTY - 1-800-927-9275

HUD will investigate the complaint and may attempt informal, confidential conciliation to end the discriminatory housing practice; or, inform the complainant of his or her right to seek immediate court action.

For more information on Fair Housing visit U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) at Fair Housing -It's Your Right